The Art of Food Photography

Food blogs are booming! I’m guessing the photos of the food have something to do with it! Let’s face it, seeing something that looks scrumptious is going to make you stop and take notice.

So my daughter made another amazing creation that consisted of baked merengue, cherries, chocolate and whipped cream…assembled into a magnificent (gluten-free I might add) cake of towering proportions!

Layered and ready for it’s close-up, it was my turn…

huh? doesn't appear quite so towering here
huh? doesn’t appear quite so towering here
scale?
scale?
Regardless of the photos, it was delicious!  Guess it's a good thing this is a photo blog and not a food blog
Regardless of the photos, it was delicious! Guess it’s a good thing this is a photo blog and not a food blog

So what did I learn… that it’s an art to make food look as good as it tastes and 1) A must! Plan your set up beforehand. As I tried to find a place to photograph this creation, the cake was warming up and starting to look more like the leaning Tower of Pisa. 2) Lighting. Almost all the natural light I had was just about gone. I think I would have preferred a natural light for food… 3) don’t forget to take a shot of the serving. This cake was just as pretty inside as out…but I was to busy devouring my slice. . . yum!

I almost forgot… you can find the recipe on Top with Cinnamon’s blog http://www.topwithcinnamon.com/2014/07/three-years.html

Still a slice in the fridge … time for desert!
Til next time,
Maria

One thought on “The Art of Food Photography

I'd love for you to leave a comment

