Tip of the Day

Welcome to my first ever Tip of the Day.  And I can’t stress this one enough…

DSC00672
Can you guess what this is?
DSC00670
Or how about this?

This is… no this was my Nikon flash.  And that pretty blue color, that’s the lovely color of corrosion.  All the result of me leaving the batteries in my flash.  It was actually a slow process.  The flash was revived at least twice by cleaning the contacts and would work pretty well for a while each time, but . . . it’s spread to the circuit board and, well, you can see for yourself… it’s a goner.  [I highly advise that you do not attempt to take your equipment apart yourself for fear of voiding any warranty – this was not done by me – but by my highly trained dad.]

I’m lucky in the sense that I like to use natural light for most of my photography and don’t use a flash very often (which also explains the extended period of time the batteries had to do their dirty work), but like most of the items in our equipment bags when we need them, we really need them, and we want them to work.  So I’m guessing you have already figured out my tip:

Remember to remove the batteries from your devices when not in use.

Til next time,
Maria

One thought on “Tip of the Day

I'd love for you to leave a comment

