Accidental-like

Another club Photo Quest due, and as usual, I had waited until the last minute.  I nice chilly, breezy, fall day, I headed out on the fly to a local college campus.  I meandered about a bit, took some shots.  I left not feeling overly inspired…but satisfied that at least I got the task off my to-do list.  Not something you expect a photographer to say…huh?  It’s been busy, busy, busy lately, so my camera (other than for my iPhone) has been a bit idle…  In hindsight, I’m actually grateful to have an “assignment” to help break the rut.

Anyway…
So I did my first run through.  My lack of enthusiasm had shown up in my images too, although I found a reflection shot I liked at the pond.

mdreyer_BC-1-before

When I zoomed in to get a closer look at some of the details, I really liked the lines and how the composition filled the screen, and especially the window, squiggly lines and all … so I kept it. mdreyer_BC-1-after

Feeling a little more optimistic and that I just needed to look a little harder, I went back to my images.  Tried again with some of the buildings, but they just weren’t stacking up to the one above, at least not for this assignment.  I also had a shot of a squirrel sitting in a tree ~ I haven’t given up on him either ~ but since it’s not the best of exposed shots and was quickly turning into an exercise in frustration to bring the little guy out of the shadows, I moved on.  Remember, I waited until the last minute on this assignment.

Next up, another shot in the shadows, which actually was my second shot of the day, a fence-lined walk by the pond.  What I saw when I was taking the picture were lots of pretty fall colors, nice lines, a good composition.  So to say I was a disappointed when I first viewed the original image would be a vast understatement…  mdreyer_BC-2-before

But!!!! And this is a very important point to remember … at least I hadn’t overexposed the shot (like in did in my very first shot of the day).  To see what I truly had,  I messed around with the sliders in LR, discovering these red dots…bigger than dots really… going across the image.  Look closely, do you see them in the photo above?.  After a few minutes of trying to figure out what they were and how I was going to clone them out, I realized I not only had to KEEP these red dots, which were actually leaves floating on a breeze up the path, but I NEEDED to figure out a way to accentuate them. mdreyer_BC-2-after A couple actions and a turn or two in Topaz Adjust, my photo came to life! 🙂

“I don’t know if we each have a destiny, or if we’re all just floating around accidental-like on a breeze, but I, I think maybe it’s both.”
~ Forrest Gump ~

2 thoughts on “Accidental-like

I'd love for you to leave a comment

