Words for Wednesday

I can’t believe it.  From a hurricane to the first snow of the season!  Although does it really count if it doesn’t stick?  Anyway seems like forever since I’ve been here on the blog.  I’ve also had some serious catching up to do on the many other blogs I love to follow.  There just never seems to be enough hours in the day to do it all.   So I can’t think of a better way to spend this snowy/rainy Wednesday evening than catching up.

A quick recap:  The arts fest season ended {sigh}.  It might not be the most lucrative way to get my photography out there, but I can surely tell you it is an amazing way to meet interesting, talented, and dedicated people.  I can’t wait until  next year.  During the winter months, there’s the photography club, which, again, mixes photography with meeting all sorts of people.   I never really thought of photography as being a social activity, but for me it really is!  From the bloggers, to the photographers, to the strangers I meet when I am out shooting . . . this is quite the social activity. . . at least for me.

Now for some photography . . .   This month’s photo club challenge , pardon me, I mean “Quest” is Portraiture.  My dilemmas:

1) Portraiture — Not the type of photography I usually do (this is definitely more of a challenge, at least for me).

2)  Getting my (insert expletive here) flash to cooperate.

3) {I thought} I needed a creative idea.

With Model #1 everything just seemed to click … right down to the breeze blowing through her hair.  But I had taken those kinds of photos before … model #1 and I watched plenty of America’s Next Top Model and she’s always willing to strike a pose.   I was still feeling the need to get a little creative … maybe to compensate for my lack of confidence in taking portraits.  That brings us to Model #2 and that dang flash.   I even brushed up on flash photography and portraiture, but even with all that preparation, I just could not get the images I had envisioned to show up in the LCD display.  Frustrated, I ditched the flash and used what little natural light I had … oh, and some red hot chili peppers :-0  Now that I think about it, this is more like how I was feeling while trying to get my flash to cooperate.

Lighting aside, you’re probably now wondering what the heck I was thinking when I wrapped this fella in lighted chili peppers.  I’ll just say it seemed like a potentially good idea in my head . . . that and model #2 is a really great sport for putting up with my crazy idea.

So in the end, the flash worked as fill when used outside; but for an indoor photo I fared much better when I put the flash away . . . at least for my intents and purposes.  So now the final portraits (sorry,  no chili peppers involved).  If you’re a DPC member and want to see them fresh at the meeting, STOP HERE.  Otherwise . . .

 

 

                         
BTW, Flora Bella actions used with model #1 ….Love These!!!!

2 thoughts on “Words for Wednesday

  1. I’m really getting hooked on the Florabella Colorplay Actions. I’ve missed seeing you around Blogland. Glad to see you here 🙂 I really like that last portrait. The black negative space with that pop of a red cap….very nice 🙂

I'd love for you to leave a comment

