An Observation

Fact:  If I look to hard, I won’t see it.   Has this ever happen to you?  For example, I really want a pair of cool leather boots.  I know exactly what I want, heel height, color, . . . stylish but comfortable, and a price that won’t put me in the poor house.   Seriously, somebody out there must make a pair that meets all my criteria.  Two years of searching and I still haven’t found that perfect pair.   Am I trying too hard?

This is even truer for me when it comes to my photography.    I noticed this with last month’s photo club’s scavenger hunt.  When I went out to find the items (look up, fresh, and metal), I just couldn’t see them or, if I did, honestly, they just didn’t meet my criteria for being interesting enough.  But when I reversed it and matched random photos I had taken to the items … Wa-la! There they were.  This month’s challenge is not much different.  It’s a letter search (you know where you take a photo of something that looks like a letter and then spell a word).  Once again, as soon as I stopped looking for the perfect letter, i.e. the perfect shot, they started appearing like magic.   I promise, I’ll share my letters in a couple of weeks.  But for now, here are last month’s finds: look up, fresh, and metal.


Took this with my iPhone on my walk home from work

 The last days of summer {sigh}


These fish were just hanging around (literally).

And who knows, maybe this will be the year I find that perfect pair of boots too!

 

2 thoughts on “An Observation

  1. So very true! I just found the perfect pair of black suede knee boots with a low heel in perfect condition at a vintage store…and I wasn’t even looking for any! Maybe this will also happen to you too 😉 But I know when I try to hard with my photography I inevitably fall down. When I keep a light, joyful approach magic things happen.

I'd love for you to leave a comment

