Jump Start

Does anyone know a cure for writer’s block?   While we’re at it, how about photographer’s block?  I seem to be suffering from a little bit of both lately.

I’m going to take my cue from a movie I watched this afternoon (probably for about the fourth or fifth time and still love it) Julie and Julia, the story of a woman (Amy Adams) that starts a blog and self-challenge that revolves around the recipes of Julia Child’s (Meryl Streep) recipes.  Please excuse my super short synopsis but I don’t think I could give it the kind of movie review it deserves (I’m just not that good a writer), so you’ll just have to watch it if you haven’t already.   Back to my blog . . .  I’ve been sitting here trying to think of some sort of self-challenge . . . a photo a day . . .  a weekly critique or review perhaps . . .  or maybe  a blog about nothing (why do I get the feeling that has already been done).

For me the hardest part is always just getting started . . . or in this case restarted.   I don’t have enough fingers or toes to count on the starts and restarts over the years . . . the exercise programs, the diets, hobbies (I have a whole case of beads that I never got around to stringing, yarn earmarked to be crochet into a blanket or something).  Even my blog has been started and restarted.  I think I might even still have a blog or two out there (One Red Poppy is one . . . I have no idea how I came up with that name or what blog site I started it on at this point) and I even restarted this one a few times with new themes, etc.

So today’s post is nothing more than a jump start for my blog’s dead battery.

I’m calling it a fond farewell to summer . . .

Did you know Labor Day was actually created to celebrate the economic and social contributions of workers (thank you Wikipedia)?  But it somehow it has transformed to mark the end of summer.  But I’ve got good news for all you diehard summer lovers ~ you actually have 18 more days!  Summer is not officially over until September 21, 2012!   I had plenty of time to ponder this as I did actually go to work today.  Not that I minded really, it was a perfectly gray and rainy day to work on a holiday. . .

One thought on “Jump Start

I'd love for you to leave a comment

