A new pair of shoes

Pardon my absence.  A new job/new schedule and a pile of mulch that HAD/HAS to be moved will do that.

So tonight I am heading up the Doylestown Photography Club’s Focus Ring :-o.  I suppose I should explain what the Focus Ring is.  It’s a mini, about 45-minute, how-to session that is presented prior to the club’s regular meeting.  In the past, such topics have included matting, Photoshop tutorials, lighting, the business side . . . there never seems to be a loss of ideas for the focus ring.  So when organizing this month’s meeting, we tossed around ideas about artistic side of photography, composition, stepping away momentarily from the technical side of things.  It seemed like a pretty good fit that my photography and my work with textures would fit right in.  And then I got this plug in the club’s monthly newsletter, “Focus Ring featuring the Queen of Textures.”  Oh my . .  no pressure!

Well, I have to stop right here and say that the real “Queens of Textures” have some pretty big shoes fill.  I now have such an immense appreciation for the amount of time and work they put into their tutorials, tips, and most importantly . . . seemingly endless supply of inspiration.  Ladies, you know who you are (Hi Kim, Cheryl, & Leslie . . . just to name a few) THANK YOU!

I think the hardest part about putting together this little demo was, well, keeping it little.  After I started really thinking and planning it out, I realized how much is actually involved.  Granted, once you get the hang of it, find your flow and your style, you don’t even think about.  But finding a way to explain it so I don’t lose anyone or scare them off from trying it . . . or the worst, be uninspiring, is a rather large task.  I had to keep reminding myself that I am just giving them a little taste, a sampling . . .

So here’s the image I am using . . .  sweet and simple . . . I hope 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “A new pair of shoes

I'd love for you to leave a comment

