Milk Duds

Sheldon:  Milk Duds, with their self-deprecating name and remarkably mild flavor,
are the most apologetic of the boxed candies.

Here’s a perfect example of my #2 truth . . .  I am a bit of a control freak.  Yes, I like things just so, especially my life.  So when the “day” job recently began to unravel and I had no idea what direction to go. Well, let’s just say that certain “coping” behaviors began to surface.  My nails haven got a little shorter; okay, so what, if I bought a box of Milk Duds, and I even played a little hooky.  Big change can have that effect.  I would say going to work in an office after 15+ years of working from the comforts of my home is a big change.  Wouldn’t you?  The bigger question for me though has been why am I letting this affect me so much.  I am no stranger to change.  I have made quite a few over the past couple of years; some good, some not working out quite the way I expected.  I will be doing the same type of work ~ so I don’t think that’s it.  Is it that I won’t be able to work in my PJ’s anymore?

So when I read this quote this morning, provided by the lovely and always timely Kim Klassen (and my inspiration Guru) over at Shutter Sisters, the light bulb got a little brighter.

We can always choose to perceive things differently. You can focus on what’s wrong in your life, or you can focus on what’s right.

~Marianne Williamson

So all day, I have been refocusing; focusing on all that is right with my decision, focusing on all the positive changes that will no doubt occur, focusing on this being the start of a new chapter in my life.

The Milk Duds are all gone, the nails will grow back, and next week . . . after one more day of hooky (heading to the zoo) 😉 . . . I’ll start that new chapter.


All the pieces coming together

5 thoughts on “Milk Duds

  1. Beautiful photos! Sometimes we have to give ourselves permission and time to adjust to big changes in our life. Even though it is the best to focus on the goods things that doesn’t mean that it always comes easy and natural for everyone. Since you a have a good track record with change – I foresee that you will slowly refocus and happily settle into your new life. Wishing you the best! We’re are all behind you!

I'd love for you to leave a comment

