Now is as good a time as any

If not now, when?   Kim, from Beyond Layers (BL) has posed this simple question this week.  This, when I am in a complete turmoil regarding my “day job.”  I actually woke up to no work on Monday morning ~ not a good way to start the week.  A big client hit the road (making up more than half my weekly income).  So now what? Sit tight and hope for another “big” client, update the resume and send it out hoping for a nibble in today’s market {sigh}, or use this as a springboard to do more of what I have been wanting/saying I would do for years . . . selling my art/photography.  Ultimately, it would be so great to have a little boutique/gallery, a place where women photographers/artists can display, share, and bond, much like the Femme Fotographer’s but with brick & mortar.  Ahhh . . . a girl can dream, can’t she?  

Ok, so maybe opening a boutique/gallery in today’s market is not such a wise business move, but having my art/photography being sold in one, or two, or  . . . that’s doable, right?  

The last time I set out to do this was a disastrous to say the least.  Admittedly, I was a novice and the mindset/self-inflicted pressure of “needing” to make $$$ completely zapped any and all of my creativity and left me with a pile of prints that I like . . . but don’t love.  I even put down my camera and shied away from my computer.  Since then, I have made a few changes.  The most important (and now my mantra) is my art and photography has to be for me first and foremost so that joy in what I do shines through.

 

So, what’s next?  I am going to take my cues from Kim, “get to work on the details, the logistics…. write a list…… begin to make it happen.”  Thanks, Kim, for posing such a simple question …if not today, when?…. and providing the nudge, the push, the springboard for so many 🙂 .  Of course, I still need a “day job”.  Let’s be real, I have to fund my dream.  But at least allowing myself to pursue my dream makes the bumps on the other roads of my life much more tolerable. 

4 thoughts on “Now is as good a time as any

  1. You’re artwork is beautiful. Wishing you excitment, happiness, joy and many accomplishments on your upcoming journey.

  2. ahhhh a dream we all share here…glad to see you’re taking action!! One little action will lead to another. Keep us posted. Hopefully we all can encourage each other!

I'd love for you to leave a comment

