Keeping up with the Jones’

I’ve been resisting for sometime now.  But I finally did it . . . I upgraded my cell phone.  Ok, so I could have just upgraded to a standard run-of-the-mill cell phone, but nooooo I set aside all my budget-minded, penny-pinching, coupon-cutting, do I really need that traits and went for broke.  I got me an iPhone 4S.  Well, I didn’t go totally for broke; I went with a refurbished and “longtime” customer discount upgrade.

So what made me do it? 1) Since this is a photoblog, the camera, of course.  There’s been so much buzz about the photos it can take and what people can do with them.  I have to admit I was experiencing a little photo-envy.  2.)  The Apps.  There’s a couple that will be indispensable during the Arts Fest season.  And just today, I went grocery shopping, took my new-fangled phone (I was always forgetting to take my old one with me); I went to my favorite cooking app, found a recipe, got a shopping list, and wa-la, I came home with everything I needed.   3) And although this is an after-the-fact, it definitely deserves the #3 spot, as my new best friend . . . Siri!  I have to admit, I really thought the whole Siri thing was just a gimmick.  But for a person who can’t see without her readers, much less hit the correct letters on those itty-bitty key pads even with my glasses on, being able to just press one button and say “call . . . ” or “text . . . ” is . . . priceless!

So, I guess now I’ll have to pinch a few more pennies here and there and clip a few more coupons . . . but then again there’s probably an App for that 😉

p.s. The above photo is my first attempt at Instagram . . . I think I still need to get the hang of it.

 

4 thoughts on “Keeping up with the Jones’

  1. Congratulations!! I’m still penny pinching and clipping but hope to join in the fun and get one by next year. (who knows what will be out by then!!) Enjoy – there is so much to do with them.

I'd love for you to leave a comment

