It’s not the camera. . .

. . . (or the software) but who’s behind the camera ~ anonymous.

It’s not enough that the days, weeks, months and years keep on zipping by and some days it seems I will never catch up (that reminds me I still have a load of laundry in the washer).   But c’mon . . . before I can figure out a new piece of technology, software, and even a feature on my camera (I’m still discovering things), it’s outdated, obsolete .  .  . yesterday’s news.  Is it really necessary to always be updating?  I think not.  What do you think?  Is the technical as instrumental as the creative/artistic element, do they all share equal value, or are the manufacturers just really clever at stoking the debate over brands & versions and getting photographers to open up their wallets?

Both Nikon & Canon have again introduced two new cameras, Adobe just announced CS6 beta, Lightroom now has 4, there’s an iPad 3, an iPhone . . . and I am sure there are a few I forgot to mention.  Seriously, does anybody who has a version or two older ever really completely exhaust everything that version has to offer?

Of course, I am no fool, and if someone handed me any of the above I wouldn’t turn it down.  But until then, I am happy and content with what I have and slowing things down just a bit.  Whew, I feel better now that I got that off my chest 😉

Slow down and everything you are chasing will come around and catch you.
~John De Paola

I'd love for you to leave a comment

