Thought I would share . . .

. . . since I really haven’t had a whole lot of time to shoot lately.

I’ve been in one of those periods where everyday life has taken a lot of time and energy and my creative endeavors have had to wait.  Even this post has been sitting in draft mode for a few days.  But that doesn’t mean I haven’t been thinking up new ideas or projects.  Quite the contrary, my idea notebook (yes, I have started to keep one and it comes in very handy), is filling up.

So I thought I would share a link or two today that inspired a couple of ideas for my idea notebook.

I tend to gravitate toward anything with the word creative in it or a derivative there of so of course this title, on may Facebook, got my attention Creative Portrait Photography Tips.  This title actually got my attention because portrait photography has not really been one of my strong suits.  I think mostly because I find it . . . intimidating.   I go through all the tips and tricks I’ve been told such as striking up a conversation, making them forget you have a camera, etc.  But seriously the hardest part for me is to get the words “can I take your picture” to leave my lips.  Oh, so many missed opportunities due to that little bit of hesitation {sigh}.  So I usually take the sneaky  route and shoot from the hip, but of course that is so hit or miss.  Studio photography has not really been an option . . . I don’t have one, no high-end lights & equipment, not even a spare room in the house (need one of the kids to move out for that).  And even for an impromptu, outdoor, natural light shoot, well, having a model would help.   . . . Ok, I won’t keep you waiting any longer.

http://www.picturecorrect.com/tips/creative-portrait-photography-tips/

What intrigued me the most was the photographer’s creative process; the artist coming up with the concept, sketching it out, the artistic makeup, and choosing the settings to complete the concept long before the photos ever went into Photoshop.  Oh, and the lack of equipment.

And speaking of portrait/people photographers, I have a few favorites.  There’s a couple of the “Master’s” of course, but there’s a couple others that almost always come to mind first.   First  is my brother; I guess he’s the one that got the people-person gene http://www.spiritdogphotography.com/ .  Then when my daughter went off to college last year, I came across a young photographer by the name of Kevin Wong.  He’s fresh & edgy, but not too in your face or dark . . . for me anyway; he’s creative, young, and I think even a little . . . vintage (which I love).  What a great mix.  I often think if I did portraits, I would like to take something from his style.  You can check him out here http://www.wix.com/kwong07734/kwport.

So hopefully as things calm down in the days to come I will be able to implement some of those ideas in my notebook . . . I can’t wait!

HAPPY FIRST DAY OF SPRING! (a few hours early :-))

I'd love for you to leave a comment

