Should I or Shouldn’t I

Whoo-Hoo!  Just a little shout out for myself.  I hope you don’t mind.  I am celebrating a little bit tonight as I just found out today that two of my images were selected for the 20th annual Phillips Mill Photography Exhibit.  Yay me!   And to think I almost did not enter this year.  Over the past few weeks, I have had a constant should I/shouldn’t debate going on in my head.  And it was not until Sunday at about 12:45 that I finally made up my mind and got in the car to deliver my images (by the way, it’s about a 25 minute drive and they stopped taking art work at 2:00).  Cutting it a little close . . . just a bit.  So why the debate?  Well 1) these things aren’t free and did I really want to risk losing some money; 2) the competition is pretty stiff  with “about 1000 entries and only 15% accepted;” and 3) I wasn’t sure after not getting accepted last year if I really had what they were looking for.  So, Oh My Gosh, I almost fell off my chair when I opened today’s mail.  So why did I finally decide to do it?  Because last year (my first attempt) I entered images based on a lot of outside influences and not what I felt in my heart were my best.  I guess, deep down I felt I owed it to myself to see what would happen if I did just the reverse and listened to my heart.  Oh, how I am so glad I listened . . . to me.

I was working on the above image tonight for the Beyond Layers & Texture Tuesday posts and I wasn’t quite sure how I could make it fit into this post until I went looking for a quote on perseverance, not giving up, or in this case following your heart.  Now it all ties in perfectly . . . don’t you think?

12 thoughts on “Should I or Shouldn’t I

  1. Congratulations! Wow, that’s fantastic that you were chosen when such a small percentage make it through – you should be very proud of yourself! Following your heart is always the key…your photo and quote above are beautiful.

  2. Lesson learned….never let outsiders influence your insides 🙂 YOU know what’s best for YOU. Love the photo, and congrats !!!!!

  3. Yes, it is very fitting. Beautiful photo. I loved reading about your inner debate…..guess it’s that lesson that we do need to listen to ourselves when it comes to our art.

I'd love for you to leave a comment

