If you blink you might miss it

Whoo-hoo! I found it! Well, more like I spotted it . . . a fleeting glimpse. But the most important thing is that I know it is there.

Somewhere between those first moments of waking and the last seconds of sleep. Somewhere between Elton John’s Goodbye Yellow Brick Road and the Beatles (hmm, must have been too asleep to remember the name of the song). I brushed away some of the emotional clutter and there it was.  Do I dare say it? Will I jinx it if I say it out loud? Will it disappear again if I do? I can’t take that chance . . . not yet. I’ll just let what I know, what I felt, guide my day.  A happier one it will be for sure.

And so my day began.  As I was jotting down the above story in my journal, I looked up and saw this morning’s magnificent pink sky out the door.  I hesitated (it was early and I don’t think the coffee had quite kicked in yet) and then I quick went to get my camera.  And in my fumbling of whether or not to put it on the tripod or take my chances handheld, run outside in my PJ’s or shoot from right where I was, and the dreaded do I check the settings or just go for broke, I got exactly three shots off before the pink began to fade.  By the time I returned to my desk and took another sip of my coffee a few moments later, the show was over and gray clouds had settled in.

But just like my discovery before I ever rolled out of bed this morning, I knew what I saw, even if just for a moment; and it will always be there . . . whether it is hiding behind some gray clouds or out-shined by the morning sun.

I'd love for you to leave a comment

