Ah-ha!

I am sure there are a lot of people out there who would think that the prospects of losing their day job would be the worst thing that could happen in the world.  I did too . . . until just recently.  Oh, it would definitely lead to financial devastation for me to lose my “day” job as a medical transcriptionist.  But I’ve seen signs that it’s not going to last forever and instead of waiting for the other so-called shoe to drop, I’ve decided there’s no time like the present to make a career change.  I have spent 2010 preparing for this:  Going back to school, exhibiting publicly, reading and learning, and most importantly shooting!  

I am a bit of a realist and I know this will take work and a lot of it and, more importantly, I know it will not happen overnight.  It will take everything I have learned up until this point and a lot that I have yet to learn.  It will take a whole lot of creativity, self-direction, and determination . . . something I have an abundant supply of . . . oh, and maybe a partner.  Linda, if you are reading this (and this goes for all you “wannabe” photographers out there), I am ready to drop the “wannabe attitude” . . . are you?

One thought on “Ah-ha!

  1. Good luck Maria, and kudos on the courage. I too am anticipating the obsolescence of my current job withing the next ten years and making preparation now. I’m also considering taking up photography and coupling it with writing.

    I’ll subscribe to your photoblog and watch your work.

I'd love for you to leave a comment

