Finally…Getting the hang of Layers

I finally found some time to spend to work on some photos.  Because of my frustrations with Photoshop CS4, I have usually stopped at the basic layers (saturation/hue, curves, etc).  Until tonight!   I knew what I wanted to do, I just could not get the steps to work logically, but after some searching I found everything I needed at http://www.photoshopessentials.com/.  Here, I found step by step tutorials for everything I wanted to do:  1) torn edges, 2) mat/borders.  There was still one glitch though, for months my guides (you know the dotted lines that show what your cropping or when you use the transforms) have been missing.  Without these it was next to impossible to complete what I needed to do.  So I did some more searching and .  So for anyone that might be experiencing this problem, here’s the solution: 

1. Turn off OpenGL.

  1. Choose Edit > Preferences (Windows) or Photoshop > Preferences (Mac OS).
  2. In the Performance panel, deselect Enable OpenGL Drawing. Click OK.
  3. Restart Photoshop, and perform the same function.

You can find a complete explanation here http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/404/kb404898.html

To see the final results click on the gallery tab, recent images.  Feel free to leave a comment (thumbs up/down) if you like.

I'd love for you to leave a comment

