New Project

My new project is setting up a studio/work space.   Challenge #1:  My new room has red walls.  I know, I can paint.  In addition, it also has a three-sided ceiling which poses some limitations.  I really like the room and its red walls, so I am thinking about hanging sheets, a curtain-like effect.   One plus, the room does get more natural light throughout the day.  The red walls also pose a challenge when working on my photos; I am usually limited to working at night with the lights off to avoid any red color cast.  All things considered maybe it would be easier if I just painted.   Challenge #2:  A very tight budget!   I’ve gotten a few creative ideas from http://www.diyphotography.net.  Any additional comments/ideas would be welcomed!  I’m glad to know I am not the only photographer out there that just can’t pick up their B&H catalog and start ordering. 
 
I guess for now it’s a good thing I like to shoot a lot of macro ~ it doesn’t take a lot of space and I already have almost everything I need.   I think I’ll give this a try:  http://strobist.blogspot.com/2006/07/how-to-diy-10-macro-photo-studio.html 
courtesy of strobist.com

I’ll be sure to post my success/adjustments/failures to hopefully help anyone else out there trying to get great indoor shots on a tight budget.  And while under construction, I’ll be taking advantage of the beautiful fall season and continue shooting mainly outdoors.

I'd love for you to leave a comment

