Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

At least once a year, I head with the family to a place in the middle of PA where you get no connection. . . no bars (the internet kind = no Facebook, no emails, no cellphone) which is quite surprising since we are only about 30 minutes away from one of the top ten colleges, Penn State.  However, there is one thing that always works on my device no matter where I am . . . the camera :-)

IMG_20140704_144405 20140706_081512_1_resized

This year we headed to this sweet spot for fourth of July weekend. Even though we went to Penn State to see the fireworks and I confess, I used my device to get some tips on how to shoot fireworks and maybe see what the family was up to in other parts of the country, oops, and well okay post a pic to Instagram. . .  but that was it and soon we were on our way back to the land of disconnect.

PSU-fireworks

It’s a really good feeling . . . even if just for a little while . . . to rely only on the conversation that’s going right where you are, and not to hear dings and rings and chimes and tones . . . a prelude to interruption.  As a photographer, an artist,  it really is a way to reconnect with your vision when you disconnect.

**Today’s post was inspired by a post I read, when I got home, by Photofocus and their Photographer of the Week, Nikki Harrison http://photofocus.com/2014/07/07/nikki-harrison-photographer-of-the-week/, and particularly #6 on her list.

Til next time,
Maria

 

